Kacata!

So, I accidently kicked the computer cord and my previous blog was lost. I´m too flustered to rewrite everything, and I don´t have the time. POOP!

However, I would like to fill you all in on my new location! I´ve moved from outside of Santo Domingo to just south of Puerto Plata, a popular tourist spot on the north coast. I live in a neighborhood called Fundacion, a suburb of Altamira. It´s amazing here. We took a truck from the highway up this winding, hilly path to our new neighborhood. Fundacion consists of 3000 people spread out along one long road. So picture this… Lots of hills or small mountains, all tropical. Lush palm trees and fruit trees and several rivers. I live next to Rio Fundacion, and there´s even a local tourist spot where you can swim in the river and jump in the water… FOR FREE. I´m happy to have a great way to cool off after a long day of classes. My new host family is great. Their house is attached to a small fashion store with really awesome clothes. Actually, the town is relatively modern and developed, considering it´s the DR, and this shop contains all American clothes. At this very moment, I´m sitting in the shop on the computer, which I´m using FOR FREE.

For the next 5 weeks, I´ll be living here and doing technical training and language training. I´ll learn how to do community diagnostics and maps, interview most of the families, and move up two levels in my language proficiency. Needless to say, it´s a really vital part of the training process.

Other than that, I´m doing well. I eat rice, beans, and avocado every single day at atleast one meal. There are fruit trees all around and I´m excited to take advantage of picking a fresh avocado or guava to eat.

Oh, kacata is the word for tarantula. Yes, there are tarantula´s in the Dominican Republic (but no poisonous snakes.) I have yet to see one, thankfully. But I learned that if you live in a wooden house, often when it rains its likely that there will be a gigantic kacata hanging out on your wall. CAN YOU BELIEVE IT?! I better start shopping for machetes… or really brave neighbors.

Adios!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Kacata!”

  1. Sunny Says:

    CAN YOU BELIEVE IT!!!

    I can’t wait for you to speak Spanish to us!

    I hate spiders. And I think I’d hate giant ones with an even more giant hatred.


Leave a Reply

